Let’s tie them up together with some spammers and script kiddies and throw them in a lake.
Any blog writer will know by now that the comments get jammed with oodles of spam automatically, but today I have some new comments in my Akismet spam queue (love that Akismet!) that post a link to blogsrate.net, which is a site just for distributing viruses. I run AVG Free 8 (a very nifty virus scanner…and it’s free!) which was kind enough to warn me:
The page you are trying to access has been identified as a known exploit, phishing, or social engineering web site and therefore has been blocked for your safety.
In fact, the site tried to push a download virus/trojan to my PC. The bastards! Ah well, another asshole is thwarted by up-to-date virus scanners (hint righ there, people! UPDATE!). And here’s the asshole in question:
Domain Name.......... blogsrate.net
Creation Date........ 2008-06-22
Registration Date.... 2008-06-22
Expiry Date.......... 2009-06-22
Organisation Name.... Michael Cautillo
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US
Current Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
IP Address: 68.180.151.31 (ARIN & RIPE IP search)
IP Location: US(UNITED STATES)-CALIFORNIA-SUNNYVALE
Lock Status: clientTransferProhibited
DMOZ no listings
Data as of: 14-Jun-2005
Well, Michael Cautillo of EmeryVille, CA: You’re a jerk, Cautillo. A complete kneebiter.
Words are yet to be invented to describe what you are, but you are one. A total one.