That’s one cool virus

design, gadgets, ict / computers August 11th, 2008

Absolutely brilliant:

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

Virus writers must die

blog June 25th, 2008

Let’s tie them up together with some spammers and script kiddies and throw them in a lake.
Any blog writer will know by now that the comments get jammed with oodles of spam automatically, but today I have some new comments in my Akismet spam queue (love that Akismet!) that post a link to blogsrate.net, which is a site just for distributing viruses. I run AVG Free 8 (a very nifty virus scanner…and it’s free!) which was kind enough to warn me:

The page you are trying to access has been identified as a known exploit, phishing, or social engineering web site and therefore has been blocked for your safety.

In fact, the site tried to push a download virus/trojan to my PC. The bastards! Ah well, another asshole is thwarted by up-to-date virus scanners (hint righ there, people! UPDATE!). And here’s the asshole in question:

Domain Name.......... blogsrate.net
Creation Date........ 2008-06-22
Registration Date.... 2008-06-22
Expiry Date.......... 2009-06-22
Organisation Name.... Michael Cautillo
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US
Current Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
IP Address: 68.180.151.31 (ARIN & RIPE IP search)
IP Location: US(UNITED STATES)-CALIFORNIA-SUNNYVALE
Lock Status: clientTransferProhibited
DMOZ no listings
Data as of: 14-Jun-2005

Well, Michael Cautillo of EmeryVille, CA: You’re a jerk, Cautillo. A complete kneebiter.
Words are yet to be invented to describe what you are, but you are one. A total one.